Peter’s Weblog

Movies, Movies, Movies

Posted on: December 29, 2008

So I spent most of my christmas weekend sitting on a dark room eating popcorn and soda. Yes, you guessed it right, I watch a lot of movies! I have to say thanks again for those who give me AMC gift card, loved the gift! So I watched a lot of movies, really alot. Be ready to read my (amateur) movie critics ūüėõ I promise, I won’t write any spoilers.

Yes Man

I love Jim Carey, and¬†this¬†movie didn’t dissapoint me.¬†I’ts about a loser who turned his life around by saying Yes to anything. It’s funny, it’s crazy, and has a little romantic side. Well, some people are angry¬†due to some of it’s “sexual” jokes. Meh, I think if¬†your kids are as innocent as you think they are, they’re not gonna understand the joke, so¬†it’s safe. ¬†Anyway, on the Rating section, it’s already been writen that it has some sexual humor and brief nudity, so you’ve actually been warned. *shrugs*

Seven Pounds

Not really a fan of Will Smith in a serious dramas, but what can I say, he’s a great actor. I watched Pursuit of Happiness, and I liked it, so I was sure that I was gonna like this one too and I wasn’t wrong. As promised, the story delivers many layers and secrets, why Ben Thomas did what he did, but overall the story is solid. If you are a sucker for a great drama, this film will satisfy you.

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

When I decided to purchase the ticket for this movie, I didn’t really know what to expect, except a touching story. I have a mixed review on this film. I think the film is beautiful, graceful, and touching, but I just couldn’t help but think how Benjamin Button going to die as a baby. The journey that Button experienced somehow reminded me of Forest Gump, but overall great movie.

The Spirit

I saw the trailer and I thought this movie might be cool, even though not a fan of black-n-white style. It turned out that black-n-white part was okay, but not the movie. Yeah sure, I didn’t expect this movie to have an Oscar-level performance, but the acting was horible (never liked Eva Mendes in any film, and this one is no exception). Maybe it’s the side effect of black-n-white camera, I don’t know.¬†¬†

Marley & Me

A decent comedy, but not really great. Chemistry between Aniston and Wilson is great, but Marley is the star of the film, but that’s about it. It tried to be sentimental and touching when Marley …. (I leave it blank so it won’t spoil you), but I don’t really buy it. Just like Yes Man, lots of parents tried to shield their children from mild-sexual jokes and scenes.

The Day The Earth Stood Still

I didn’t watch the original but I heard it was great. This remake was okay, I like the action, but the CGI was so-so. Maybe it’s just me, but when I was watching this movie, I kept on remembering War of the Worlds. If you are absolutely a sci-fi fan, you’ll love it more than I do.

There are still a couple of other movies that I want to see: Slumdog Millionaire, Australia, Valkyrie and probably Doubt and Frost/Nixon, but I don’t know if I have enough credit on my gift cards for it. I already promised my niece and nephew that I’m going to take them watch Bedtime Stories, and probably Tale of Desperaux too.

Leave a Reply

About this blog

Welcome to Peter's Weblog (Peter's TV-log, to be precise). Enjoy your stay and feel free to comment.


*Note: I embed some videos on some of my posts. If you find that the video is no longer available or if you find a broken link, please kindly notify me =) I greatly appreciate it.


WARNING: This blog contains contents known to the TV-addicts as spoilers. Readers beware, you have been warned!

RSS Feed

Archives

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 40,835 hits

FlagCounter

